Biology

Hard copies of reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, are located in the ReadyRef area, on the 1st floor of the O'Toole Library. 

They are for library use only.

• Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution

  The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution (CDHBE) is an invaluable research and study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology, and zoology.
• Cancer Medicine by Donald W. Kufe

  All-inclusive, multidisciplinary reference covers the ever-widening sphere of current cancer knowledge and clinical practice.
• Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology

  This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology. Extensively cross-referenced, the Dictionary includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures. Comparative aspects are described in order to provide a sense of the evolution of structures.
• Dictionary of Microbiology & Molecular Biology

  This Third, Revised Edition of a unique, encyclopaedic reference work covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology, from A to Zythia.
• Keywords and Concepts in Evolutionary Developmental Biology

  Covering more than fifty central terms and concepts in entries written by leading experts, Keywords offers an overview of all that is embraced by this new subdiscipline of biology, providing the core insights and ideas that show how embryonic development relates to life-history evolution, adaptation, and responses to and integration with environmental factors.
• Penguin Dictionary of Biology

  The eleventh edition of the Penguin Dictionary of Biology has been fully revised and updated to include the latest developments in the field. This dictionary offers clear explanations of biological concepts and processes, and the broadest coverage of the subject, from ecology to immunology and cytology. This will be an indispensable reference aid for would-be biologists and professionals alike.