History

Hard copies of reference books, like encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, are located in the ReadyRef area, on the 1st floor of the O'Toole Library. 

They are for library use only.

• Chambers Dictionary of World History

  Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.
• The Encyclopedia of World History

  A comprehensive chronology of entries that span the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000.
• Andromeda Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History

  Facts about historical events, periods, and personalities available under alphabetically arranged headword entries. Coverage extends across every continent and every century of history. The entries have been prepared by professional historians, and Jeremy Black, Professor of History at the University of Exeter, has acted as academic consultant.
• The Hutchinson Chronology of World History

  A chronology of world history through 2015.
• World History Encyclopedia by Alfred J. Andrea

  An unprecedented undertaking by academics reflecting an extraordinary vision of world history, this landmark multivolume encyclopedia focuses on specific themes of human development across cultures era by era, providing the most in-depth, expansive presentation available of the development of humanity from a global perspective. Well-known and widely respected historians worked together to create and guide the project in order to offer the most up-to-date visions available.
  Cold War: An International History by Carole K. Fink

  In this accessible, comprehensive retelling, Carole K. Fink provides new insights and perspectives on key events with an emphasis on people, power, and ideas, along with cultural coverage "from the Beetle to the Beatles." Cold War goes beyond US-USSR relations to explore the Cold War from an international perspective, including key events and developments in Africa, Asia, and Latin America
  
  The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History

  Gathers together articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation's past.