Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health and Physical Education: Internet Resources

Health Education

2015–2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans
Published by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

Agency for Health Care Research
Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this site provides access to papers on Evidence-based Practice, Outcomes & Effectiveness, Technology Assessment, Preventive Services, and Clinical Practice Guidelines.

Cancer Library
A bibliographic database of over 1.3 million citations and abstracts, from the National Cancer Institute.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention 
Reputable information from US Department of Health and Human Services

Health Information Privacy 
Information on HIPAA by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services .

HealthyNJ 
Consumer health information from UMDNJ.

Medline Plus
Provided by the National Library of Medicine; information on drugs, supplements & herbal remedies.

Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report 
The MMWR presents weekly disease and accident statistics from the Centers for Disease Control, along with helpful fact sheets and other data.

National Library of Medicine 
Provides healthcare information on a wide variety of subjects. Searchable by database or subject.

NIMH: National Institute of Mental Health 
NIMH is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders.

Nutrition Source: Knowledge for Healthy Eating 
Information on nutrition from the The Harvard School of Public Health.

Organdonor.gov 
Organ donation and transplantation information, by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

PubMed 
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Physical Education

CDC Healthy Schools - Physical Education and Physical Activity
Framework, guide and resources to apply the Comprehensive School Physical Activity Program in K-12.

CDC Youth Physical Activity Guidelines Toolkit
Highlights strategies that schools, families, and communities can use to support youth physical activity.

New Jersey Sports Related Concussion and Head Injury Policy
Sports-Related Concussion and Head Injury Model Policy and Updates, by NJ Department of Education.

New Jersey Student Learning Standards for Comprehensive Health and Physical Education
A blueprint for curriculum development, instruction and assessment for effective health and physical education programs in NJ. 

Data

HealthData.gov
High value health data from U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.

National Center for Health Statistics 
Statistical data and reports, international travel and health information, from CDC.

re3data
A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines, including humanities, sciences, medicine and technology.