Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing

Government Resources

Agency for Health Care Research
Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this site provides access to papers on Evidence-based Practice, Outcomes & Effectiveness, Technology Assessment, Preventive Services, and Clinical Practice Guidelines.

Cancer Library
A bibliographic database of over 1.3 million citations and abstracts, from the National Cancer Institute.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention 
Reputable information from US Department of Health and Human Services

ClinicalTrials.gov
A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. Gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.

DailyMed
From the National Library of Medicine; information about currently prescribed and marketed drugs.

FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research 
News of the latest drugs, drug withdrawals, and the Orange Book of Approved Drug Products and their patent expiration dates.

Health Information Privacy 
Information on HIPAA by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services .

Medline Plus
Provided by the National Library of Medicine; information on drugs, supplements & herbal remedies.

Medline Plus: Organ Donation 
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report 
The MMWR presents weekly disease and accident statistics from the Centers for Disease Control, along with helpful fact sheets and other data.

National Center for Health Statistics 
Statistical data and reports, international travel and health information, from the Centers for Disease Control.

National Library of Medicine 
Provides healthcare information on a wide variety of subjects. Searchable by database or subject.

NIDA: National Institute on Drug Abuse 
The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

NJ Health Related Boards 
From the State of New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs, this is a directory of NJ licensed physicians, nurses, acpuncturists, podiatrists, marriage and family therapists, and other health professionals, with links to forms, tables, rules, and laws.

Organdonor.gov 
Organ donation and transplantation information, by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

PubMed 
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Other Online Resources

All Nurses
Links to multiple search engines and to Internet resources on nursing, diseases, software.

CASA
The National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University provides full-text reports on the costs, impact, and prevention of drug and alcohol abuse.

Center of Alcohol Studies, Rutgers University 
Information about the Center and its library, one of the world's largest collections of materials on alcohol, along with links to other Internet resources.

Cochrane Reviews
Cochrane reviews are based on the best available information about healthcare interventions. They explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances.

Disability-Related Resources on the Internet
From Project DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) at the University of Washington. Links to discussion lists and Web sites.

HealthyNJ 
Consumer health information from UMDNJ.

Johns Hopkins POC-IT Guides 
Trusted content in the ABX, Diabetes, and HIV Guides.

MedScape
Medscape from WebMD features newslinks from Reuters Health and Medscape Medical News,leading articles from major medical journals, free CME programs, selections from Scientific American Medicine, and very useful Specialty Home Pages. Free registration is required. Also, a reference and education section.

NurseZone 
This site offers a variety of links from job issues to life issues. Job search is by specialty and state. Career links include resume help, traveling nurse links and continuing education. Student nurses also have a special link for new grad jobs and resources.

Nutrition Source: Knowledge for Healthy Eating 
Information on nutrition from the The Harvard School of Public Health

Organ donation: Don't let these myths confuse you 
Compiled by the Mayo Clinic.

PDR Health 
Drug information and other resources from the publishers of the Physician's' Desk Reference.

Web Path: The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education 
Provides 1900 microscopic and gross images, tutorials and text on human disease. An excellent site for students.