The Association for Library Service to Children website, provides extensive information on the John Newbery Medal. This award is presented annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. A link to winners dating from 1922 to the present is included.
The Association for Library Service to Children web site, provides extensive information on the Caldecott Medal. This award is presented annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. A link to past winners dating from 1938 to the present is included.
America's Literacy Directory (ALD) is a web site that allows users to find local literacy providers in all 50 states and the U.S. territories. The ALD includes literacy programs for adults, children, and families. Includes GED and ESL programs and opportunities for volunteering. You can search by city, ZIP code or area.
"The purpose of the Brown Center on Education Policy at Brookings is to examine the problems of the American education system and to help delineate practical solutions. Most of the Center’s research has focused on the elementary and secondary levels, but its agenda is expanding to consider related challenges for higher education as well."
Developed by the Boston University School of Education. The aim of this site is to "help teachers, administrators, and parents build good character in today's students and tomorrow's leaders."
CESP is a unit of the Rutgers University Division of Continuous Education and Outreach which includes links to Teachers Researching for Equity (TRSE), the New Jersey Charter School Resource Center (CSRC), and a Small Schools Initiative.
From the American Chemical Society, ChemMatters engages students with real-world applications of scientific concepts they learn in the classroom. Includes high school chemistry education resources, videos, and teacher's guides.
Created in 1985, the Consortium for Policy Research in Education (CPRE) unites researchers from seven of the nation's leading research institutions—University of Pennsylvania, Teachers College Columbia University, Harvard University, Stanford University, University of Michigan, University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Northwestern University—in an effort to improve elementary and secondary education through practical research.
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history. Register to create an account. Developed by the National Archives.
A gateway for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies. The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH).
The George Lucas Educational Foundation. Created to identify and spread innovative, and evidence-based approaches to helping K-12 students learn better. University and college initiatives are also included.
Provides a wealth of information for parents and students interested in homeschooling and educators who need to know about homeschooling practices in the US and worldwide.
Provides a categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth. It is updated often to include the best sites for teaching and learning.
Designed for use by K-12 classroom teachers, The New York Times Learning Network (NYTLN) resource provides access both to news articles related to the use of the Internet for classroom teaching and to Web-based curriculum materials tied to current events.
OK Go Sandbox is an online resource for educators that uses OK Go’s music videos as starting points for integrated guided inquiry challenges allowing students to explore various STEAM concepts.
This informational site, established in 1995, provides access to an array of valuable online resources for psychologists, K-12 and post secondary educators, teacher educators, and parents.
A division of Harvard University's Project Zero, a wide-ranging initiative designed to improve teaching and learning, with an emphasis on critical and creative thinking.
Designed for those teaching English, either as literature or a language, this site is also useful for literature students. Under "Literature (Prose)" for example, you will find biographies of authors and selected essays, such as Amy Tan's essay "Mother Tongue" on her experience growing up in a house in which English was not the native language.
