Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American Studies

Search Books

New Books Gallery

The Bolivia Reader

The Bolivia Reader provides a panoramic view, from antiquity to the present, of the history, culture, and politics of a country known for its ethnic and regional diversity, its rich natural resources and dilemmas of economic development, and its political conflict and creativity. Featuring both classic and little-known texts ranging from fiction, memoir, and poetry to government documents, journalism, and political speeches, the volume challenges stereotypes of Bolivia as a backward nation while offering insights into the country's history of mineral extraction, revolution, labor organizing, indigenous peoples' movements, and much more. Unprecedented in scope, The Bolivia Reader illustrates the historical depth and contemporary challenges of Bolivia in all their complexity.

Barrio America

The compelling history of how Latino immigrants revitalized the nation's cities after decades of disinvestment and white flight. T We are commonly told that it was a "creative class" of young professionals who revived a moribund urban America in the 1990s and 2000s. But this stunning reversal owes much more to another, far less visible group: Latino and Latina newcomers. Award-winning historian A. K. Sandoval-Strausz reveals this history by focusing on two barrios: Chicago's Little Village and Dallas's Oak Cliff.   Using vivid oral histories and detailed statistics, Sandoval-Strausz shows how Latinos made cities dynamic, stable, and safe by purchasing homes, opening businesses, and reviving street life.  

The Colombia Reader

The Colombia Reader presents a rich and multilayered account of this complex nation from the colonial era to the present. The collection includes journalistic reports, songs, artwork, poetry, oral histories, government documents, and scholarship to illustrate the changing ways Colombians from all walks of life have made and understood their own history. Comprehensive in scope, it covers regional differences; religion, art, and culture; the urban/rural ÷ patterns of racial, economic, and gender inequalities; the history of violence; and the transnational flows that have shaped the nation. 

The Dominican Republic Reader

Despite its significance in the history of Spanish colonialism, the Dominican Republic is familiar to most outsiders through only a few elements of its past and culture. This Reader provides an introduction to the history, politics, and culture of the country, from precolonial times into the early twenty-first century. Among the volume's 118 selections are essays, speeches, journalism, songs, poems, legal documents, testimonials, and short stories, as well as several interviews conducted especially for this Reader. 

México Beyond 1968

México Beyond 1968 examines the revolutionary organizing and state repression that characterized Mexico during the 1960s and 1970s. The massacre of students in Mexico City in October 1968 is often considered the defining moment of this period. The authors in this volume challenge the centrality of that moment by looking at the broader story of struggle and repression across Mexico during this time. México Beyond 1968 complicates traditional narratives of youth radicalism and places urban and rural rebellions within the political context of the nation's Dirty Wars during this period.

The Militant Song Movement in Latin America

Latin America in the 1960s and 1970s underwent a profound and often violent process of social change. From the Cuban Revolution to the massive guerrilla movements in Argentina, Uruguay, Peru, Colombia, and most of Central America, the idea of social change was in the air. While many aspects of this topic has been explored, the cultural--and especially musical--dimension of this movement, so vital in order to comprehend the extent of its emotional appeal, has not been fully documented.  In this collection of essays,  the history of the militant song movement in Chile, Uruguay, and Argentina is examined. 

Call Numbers

Most books about Latin America are arranged on the 2nd floor of the O'Toole Library.

You can browse the shelves, or more efficiently, search the library catalog to locate call numbers for the print collection.

DP:  Spain, Portugal

F:    Latin America

PQ:  Language & Literature (Spanish)

JC: Political institutions and Public Administration (Latin American)

KG: Law - Latin America, Central America

 

 

Reference books, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, are located in the ReadyRef area, on the 1st floor of the O'Toole Library.

Can't find the book you need?

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
We will borrow it for you from other libraries. Generally, it takes around 3 weeks to arrive.

Reciprocal Borrowing
You may visit other libraries for onsite borrowing via METRO, VALENJ, and Jesuit Library Passport.